Climate Projects

Swiss Climate's portfolio of climate projects includes diverse areas of climate protection in different regions (Switzerland and internationally): renewable energy production, reforestation and forest protection, distribution of cookers at household level, biomass projects or methane prevention.  All projects meet our high quality criteria. In addition, our projects have different additional effects on other sustainability goals (SDGs). We would also be happy to refer you to other climate protection projects outside the portfolio, which are ideally tailored to your needs.

angle-left Protecting and preserving biodiversity in Indonesia

Protecting and preserving biodiversity in Indonesia

The forest reserve in Borneo, Indonesia, protects and preserves 64,500 hectares of swamp forest in the island’s south against the threat of deforestation by the palm oil industry. The forest reserve is the world’s largest carbon sink, and the largest privately funded orangutan reserve. With its unparalleled contribution to climate protection and sustainability, the project is setting a global example.

Project standard: VCS, CCB

Project Description

The swamp forest in the south of the island of Borneo is a biodiversity hotspot that is home to many endangered species: 122 mammals, 300 birds, 400 reptiles and amphibians, and 180 different plant species. The area is increasingly under threat due to ongoing deforestation and the conversion of land into palm oil fields.

The project region, which covers an area almost the size of Singapore, is one of the most fragile ecosystems in the world. The project is creating a vital, controlled buffer zone between the palm oil industry’s ever-advancing bulldozers and the Tanjung Puting National Park, which is home to one of the last remaining orangutan populations.

The forest protection measures will stop planned deforestation in the area for palm oil production and thereby store more than 4.5 million tonnes of CO2 per year.

In September 2020, the project became the first REDD+ project to be validated for its impact on all 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Social and economic Benefits

  • Health: To make medical care accessible to everyone, ships are equipped and sent out with the necessary basic equipment and medical personnel.
  • Education: The project is providing books and uniforms for school children.
  • Energy: The local residents are offered solar-powered lamps and energy-efficient stoves.
  • Clean water: Clean water filters protect children against deadly waterborne diseases.
  • Regional value added: The project is creating new jobs and adding value to the region.

Environmental aspects

  • Biodiversity: The project is making a big contribution to preserving the rich biodiversity and protecting hundreds of endangered animal and plant species.
  • Reforestation: Damaged land is replanted primarily with mangrove seedlings.
  • Preventing forest fires: A specially trained fire brigade protects the region against erupting fires.

SDGs

Location

 

 

Impressions

Hochwertige Klimaschutzprojekte

Das Portfolio an Klimaprojekten von Swiss Climate schliesst vielfältige Bereiche von Klimaschutz in verschiedenen Regionen (Schweiz und international) ein: Erneuerbare Energie-Produktion, Aufforstung und Waldschutz, Verteilung von Kochern auf Haushaltsebene, Biomasseprojekte oder Methanvermeidung.  Alle Projekte entsprechen unseren hohen Qualitätskriterien. Zudem haben unsere Projekte unterschiedliche Zusatzeffekte auf andere Nachhaltigkeitsziele (SDGs). Gerne vermitteln wir Ihnen auch weitere Klimaschutzprojekte ausserhalb des Portfolios, welche ideal auf Ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten sind.

angle-left Biodiversität schützen und erhalten in Indonesien

Biodiversität schützen und erhalten in Indonesien

Das Waldreservat in Borneo, Indonesien schützt und bewahrt 64’500 ha Sumpfregenwald im Süden der Insel Borneo vor den drohenden Rodungen durch die Palmölindustrie. Damit ist es das Waldreservat, welches weltweit am meisten CO2 einspeichert und das grösste privat finanzierte Orang-Utan Reservat. Das Projekt geniesst durch seinen unvergleichlichen Beitrag zu Klimaschutz und Nachhaltigkeit globalen Leuchtturmcharakter.

Projektstandard: VCS, CCB

Detailbeschrieb

Der Sumpfregenwald im Süden der Insel Borneo ist ein Biodiversitäts-Hotspot und beherbergt eine Vielzahl vom Aussterben bedrohten Spezies: 122 Säugetier-, 300 Vogel-, 400 Reptil- und Amphibien- und 180 Pflanzenarten. Das Gebiet wird zunehmend gefährdet durch die fortschreitende Rodung und Umwandlung in Palmölfelder.

Die Projektregion umschliesst eine Fläche von knapp der Grösse von Singapur und ist eines der fragilsten Ökosysteme der Welt. Durch das Projekt wird eine lebenswichtige und kontrollierte Pufferzone zwischen den immer weiter vordringenden Bulldozern der Palmölindustrie und dem Tanjung-Puting-Nationalpark gebildet. Der Nationalpark beherbergt eine der letzten wildlebenden Orang-Utan-Populationen.

Durch den Schutz des Waldes werden geplante Rodungen im Gebiet für die Palmölproduktion unterbunden und die Speicherung von CO2 im Umfang von über 4,5 Millionen Tonnen pro Jahr sichergestellt.

Im September 2020 wurde das Projekt zum ersten REDD+ Projekt ausgezeichnet, welches zu allen 17 Nachhaltigkeitszielen (SDGs) der UNO beiträgt.

Soziale und ökonomische Vorteile

  • Gesundheit: Um die medizinische Versorgung allen zugänglich zu machen, werden Schiffe mit der nötigen Grundausrüstung und medizinischem Personal ausgestattet und eingesetzt.
  • Bildung: Das Projekt stellt Schulkindern Bücher und Uniformen zur Verfügung.
  • Energie: Der lokalen Bevölkerung werden solarbetriebene Lampen und effiziente Kocher angeboten.
  • Sauberes Wasser: Saubere Wasserfilter schützen Kinder von tödlichen, durchs Wasser übertragenen Krankheiten.
  • Lokale Wertschöpfung: Durch das Projekt entstehen neue Arbeitsplätze und die lokale Wertschöpfung wird erhöht.

Umweltaspekte

  • Biodiversität: Das Projekt leistet einen grossen Beitrag zum Erhalt der vielfältigen Biodiversität und schützt hunderte bedrohte Tier- und Pflanzenarten.
  • Aufforstung: Beschädigtes Land wird mehrheitlich durch Mangrovensetzlinge neu aufgeforstet.
  • Waldbrände verhindern: Eine speziell ausgebildete Feuerwache schützt die Region vor ausbrechenden Bränden.

SDGs

 

Standort

 

 

 

Impressionen