Climate Projects

Swiss Climate's portfolio of climate projects includes diverse areas of climate protection in different regions (Switzerland and internationally): renewable energy production, reforestation and forest protection, distribution of cookers at household level, biomass projects or methane prevention.  All projects meet our high quality criteria. In addition, our projects have different additional effects on other sustainability goals (SDGs). We would also be happy to refer you to other climate protection projects outside the portfolio, which are ideally tailored to your needs.

angle-left The KronoClimate Project in Russia

The KronoClimate Project in Russia

The KronoClimate Project replaces fossil fuels in a wood processing manufacturing plant in the Russian Federation by biomass and hence leads to a substantial reduction in the plant’s greenhouse gas emissions. This project has enhanced a more sustainable development and has led to substantial social, economic & environmental improvements in the whole region.

Project standard: Gold Standard

Project Description

The Russian wood processing factory KronoStar is owned by the Swiss Krono Group.

Prior to the project, the substantial energy needs of the company were met with fossil fuels, especially heavy oil and peat. Wood, on the other hand, was only used as a production material.

In the past, the wood waste generated by the factory had been disposed of in a nearby landfill, where methane was produced during anaerobic digestion processes. The gas methane has a much stronger greenhouse effect than CO2.

KronoStar initiated the KronoClimate project in 2001 and 2002 together with c4c, a predecessor organisation of Swiss Climate. The aim of the project is to reduce the use of fossil fuels by generating energy from biomass. The wood waste that was dumped in landfills prior to the project is now used to create energy in a central generator. Today, 385,000 tonnes of waste wood from the factory and 190,000 tonnes of biomass from other sources are processed annually.

The KronoClimate project is the only project in Russia to have been awarded certified by Gold Standard.

The project combines renewable energy generation with a holistic waste disposal concept and FSC-certified sustainable forest management. This ensures that the production chain is sustainable, as confirmed by several certifications. KronoStar also ranks on the list of the ‘100 Best Companies in Russia’.

Social and economic benefits

  • The transfer of new technologies and expertise has created many specialised jobs, which benefits the whole region.
  • The value chain is of great importance to the entire area.
  • KronoStar complies with the guidelines of holistic quality management according to the ISO 9001 standard.
  • Occupational health and safety is ensured by fulfilling the criteria of the OHSAS18001 standard.

Environmental aspects

  • By no longer disposing biomass in uncontrolled landfills, high methane emissions are avoided. This additional climate protection is not taken into account in the certificates, as it is difficult to calculate.
  • The use of biomass from sources outside of the factory has sustainably improved the waste concept of the entire region.
  • The FSC label helps to spread sustainable forest management throughout the region.
  • The project makes use of the latest technologies, such as by installing a plasma catalytic filter, which cleans the gaseous emissions of the factory. The environmental impact of formaldehyde (a pollutant found in binding agents, for example) has also been minimised.
  • The ecological production method is rounded off by a closed water circuit in production, combined with a modern waste water treatment plant.

Location

Impressions

Hochwertige Klimaschutzprojekte

Das Portfolio an Klimaprojekten von Swiss Climate schliesst vielfältige Bereiche von Klimaschutz in verschiedenen Regionen (Schweiz und international) ein: Erneuerbare Energie-Produktion, Aufforstung und Waldschutz, Verteilung von Kochern auf Haushaltsebene, Biomasseprojekte oder Methanvermeidung.  Alle Projekte entsprechen unseren hohen Qualitätskriterien. Zudem haben unsere Projekte unterschiedliche Zusatzeffekte auf andere Nachhaltigkeitsziele (SDGs). Gerne vermitteln wir Ihnen auch weitere Klimaschutzprojekte ausserhalb des Portfolios, welche ideal auf Ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten sind.

angle-left Das KronoClimate-Projekt in Russland

Das KronoClimate-Projekt in Russland

Das KronoClimate-Projekt fördert den Ersatz fossiler Brennstoffe in einer russischen Holzverarbeitungsfabrik durch Biomasse, wodurch die Treibhausgasemissionen der Fabrik in grossem Umfang verringert werden. Dieses Projekt ermöglicht eine nachhaltige Entwicklung der Projektregion in sozialer, wirtschaftlicher und ökologischer Hinsicht.


Projektstandard: Gold Standard

Detailbeschrieb

Die russische Holzverarbeitungsfabrik KronoStar gehört zum Schweizer Konzern Swiss Krono Group.

Der grosse Energiebedarf der Firma wurde vor dem Projekt über fossile Brennstoffe, vor allem über Schweröl und Torf, sichergestellt. Holz hingegen wurde nur als Produktionsmaterial eingesetzt.

Die anfallenden Holzabfälle wurden vor Projektumsetzung in einer nahe gelegenen Deponie entsorgt, wo durch anaerobe Prozesse Methan entstand. Dieses Gas hat eine erheblich stärkere Treibhauswirkung als CO2.

Gemeinsam mit c4c, einer Vorgängerorganisation von Swiss Climate, initiierte KronoStar in den Jahren 2001 und 2002 das KronoClimate-Projekt. Ziel des Projekts ist eine Reduktion des Verbrauchs von fossilen Brennstoffen durch die Energiegewinnung aus Biomasse. Aus den Holzabfällen, die vor dem Projekt auf Deponien entsorgt wurden, wird jetzt in einem zentralen Generator Energie erzeugt. Heute werden jährlich 385‘000 Tonnen fabrikeigene Holzabfälle und 190‘000 Tonnen Biomasse aus anderen Quellen verarbeitet.

Das KronoClimate-Projekt ist das einzige mit Gold Standard ausgezeichnete Projekt in Russland.

Das Projekt verbindet die Gewinnung erneuerbarer Energie mit einem ganzheitlichen Entsorgungskonzept und nachhaltigen Forstmanagement, das mit dem FSC-Label ausgezeichnet ist. Dadurch wird eine nachhaltige Produktionskette sichergestellt, was mehrere Zertifizierungen bescheinigen. Zudem rangiert KronoStar auf der Liste der „100 Besten Firmen Russlands“.

Soziale und ökonomische Vorteile

  • Der Transfer von neuen Technologien und von Know-how hat viele spezialisierte Arbeitsplätze geschaffen, was der ganzen Region zu Gute kommt.
  • Die Wertschöpfungskette ist für die gesamte Region von grosser Bedeutung.
  • KronoStar erfüllt die Richtlinien eines ganzheitlichen Qualitätsmanagements basierend auf der ISO 9001-Norm.
  • Die Arbeitsplatzsicherheit wird durch das Erfüllen der Kriterien der OHSAS18001-Norm gewährleistet.

Umweltaspekte

  • Die nicht mehr in unkontrollierten Deponien entsorgte Biomasse verhindert Methanemissionen in grossem Umfang. Dieser zusätzliche Klimaschutz fliesst nicht in die Zertifikate ein, da er nur schwer zu berechnen ist.
  • Die Verwendung von Biomasse aus Quellen ausserhalb der Fabrik hat das Abfallkonzept der ganzen Region nachhaltig verbessert.
  • Durch das FSC-Label findet die nachhaltige Waldbewirtschaftung Verbreitung in der Region.
  • Das Projekt berücksichtigt modernste Technologien, zum Beispiel durch den Einbau eines plasmakatalytischen Filters. Dieser reinigt die gasförmigen Emissionen der Fabrik. Des Weiteren wurde der Umwelteintrag von Formaldehyd, eines Schadstoffs, der beispielsweise in Bindemitteln enthalten ist, minimiert.
  • Ein geschlossener Wasserkreislauf in der Produktion rundet in Kombination mit einer modernen Abwasserreinigungsanlage die ökologische Produktionsweise ab.

     

Standort

Impressionen